What I Know Now – Part 1

This is the first post of my “What I Know Now” series to share a bit of what I learned about getting up and running in the SL fashion industry, in hopes of sparing new models some of my personal trials and tribulations.  This idea began one day while looking over my inventory in utter horror, because yes…models need a lot of stuff, and I had a LOT of stuff.  I was so appalled at the state of my inventory that day that I began pondering what I’d do different if I had a “do over” and was starting my modeling career and inventory from scratch.   So…if I was entering the modeling world today, knowing what I know now…here is tip number 1 that I wish I’d known to save me time and linden.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~DISCOUNT DESIGNER STORES~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Styling becomes more economical, faster, and more effective when you know where to shop.  This was one of the most challenging things for me to learn…where do I go to find what I need?  Short of having a good friend who has been in the industry awhile to direct you (which is NOT a bad thing, by the way, but something I did not have when I started) my number 1 favorite way to find new designers and add things to my inventory that are top quality and affordable is to frequent the discount designer stores.

Visiting the many designer discount locations gives you a taste of different styles on the grid, and also allows you to grab a landmark to visit the designer’s main location.  And since they often have exclusive or limited quantity items at these shops, not everyone will have those pieces.  That said, a word of caution…. even if it is free…only bring it home if  a) you love it, b) you will use it.  This was a lesson I learned too late, which added to unnecessary inventory chaos.  Now an item must ideally meet both criteria to find its way into my inventory.

On my visits to designers’ main locations, if I find I LOVE their work, I will look up their group.  Even if the group is one I must pay for, if they give high quality gifts regularly, it is well worth it and a money-saver in the long run.   I have also found that in many cases the main location may have an outlet section, another added benefit to visiting the main shop.  I’ll share my tips for selecting items in a future “What I Know Now” post, but for now, here is a sampling of my recent travel bargains.

Dress: Audrey Dress Disco style – PurpleMoon exclusive at Gypset Market

Necklace: Folieole Necklace Sunflower – Finesmith exclusive at Tropicalia BIG Bazaar

Ring: Here Comes The Sun – Turquoise – Finesmith (group members receive monthly gifts and 20% off on the day new designs are introduced)

Face Tattoo: Henna Red – cheLLe exclusive at the Summer Beauty Festival

Bag: Cowhide Tote Leather Bag – R.icielli exclusive at The Dressing Room

Shoes: Audrey color-change sandals – Redgrave on sale now 50% off

Hair: 2358 Hair – Lelutka, not on sale but it met the criteria a) I love it, b) I will use it

In my pic-within-a-pic in the lower corner, I am making a list of all my favorite discount designer locations for you.  My current list is below.  Please feel free to share others you are aware of in the comments section of this blog for all readers to enjoy.

Gypset Market

Tropicalia Bazaar

The Dressing Room

The Dressing Room Blue

My Attic at the Deck

Fashion Limited

Collabor88

The Designer Showcase

Perfect Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

